Canon or Nikon the big question...?

Name
Rachel
Edit My Images
Yes
I am just starting out but hoping with the help of lots of books and some intensive course to get into wedding photography and i'm in need of a decent DSLR. I've been looking at the canon D5 and the Nikon D300 but don't know which would be best. I'm yet to hold them both a get a feel but wondered if there was a saving at all from one over the other. I'd love a camera with lots of manual options although i think doing wedding photography there will be a limit to what i can do as it will be a chase of lots of quick snaps (i think).
Any help would be so much appreciated! I'm v confussed!

WOW - just starting out and looking for the D5 or D300 - very impressive. Both look to me to be superb cameras, and I'd guess more than capable of allowing you to take some wonderful wedding photographs.

if you have the money and can afford them, go for it, but... for "just starting out..." phew, rather you than me Rivit :)

The main thing to do if you can is to try both of them and see which one feels the best in your hands. The other thing to remember is that you are not just buying a camera, you are buying a system of which the camera is just a start. Lenses, flashguns, etc end up costing more than the camera so this has to be taken into account.
Both are very capable cameras so neither would be a bad choice.

I don't really have the money it would only end up on a card for now but since in the long run i would like to take it on full time i thought i'd be better of investing. I'd much prefer to spend less but don't really know what would be good enough to use on such important events as someones wedding. If i can get the hang of it after a year a two i'd love to quit my current job and go full time on wedding photoraphy so was just thinking it would paid in the long run. Would i be better off with something like the D80 and upgrade in a year?
Thanks for you help.