Canon Photo Professional etc or Photoshop

Edit My Images
No
Im new to the world of DSLRs having acquired a 40d.

I havent really got into the world of post photo processing as such previously.

The 40d comes with a host of canon utilities such as Photo Professional, RAW conversion, Photostitch etc, which im lead to believe are very good?.

I have never used any of the Photoshop family so looking for a little guidance please.

Am I likely to be able to do all I need to within these Canon programmes or am I going to need to get into Photoshop. If its the latter, which version is the way to go for a processing beginner to work with and learn.

Thanks for any help.

You could also look at Gimp or Picasa which are free.

canon's DPP does the best job of RAW conversion but is limited beyond simple retouching although the latest version seems to sharpen well and has decent noise reduction. I have been trying to use lightroom but keep going back to DPP for raw files...it just seems to get the white balance spot on more of the time.

So in my opinion I would use DPP then use the option to transfer to photoshop for more local adjustments. Try photoshop elements first then once you feel you've outgrown it, move on to the full version.

For RAW file tweaking, DPP is OK. A bit clunky but produces good results. Its free. Try it. If you like it, you could consider Aperture or Lightroom.

For editing images, you don't really get anything with the camera. Try GIMP (free) or Photoshop Elements. Most people don't need full photoshop.

I use Canon DPP fore RAW tweaking and conversion. Photoshop for any other work.

Thanks for the guidance.

Quick update. A friend of mine who is an IT dealer has come across a copy of Photoshop CS2 in a consignment of software. He says I can have it.

Will CS2 do all I really need or is it getting a bit old now? Would I find it too complicated as a novice? I have no idea.

Thanks.