Canon RAW files won't open in Photoshop v9 :-s

Name
Lianne
Edit My Images
Yes
After playing with one of the tutorials in Digital Photo mag, I decided to go for it with RAW files but can't open them in Photoshop.

The magazine tutorial was using a .dng file which opened fine.

I've got version 9 (i think) and when I try to open, I ensure have selected camera raw file in type (CR2 is included in this list) but when try to open get an error saying can't open as wrong type. :bang:

I have got some software which came with my EOS 400D but doesn't allow me to make the changes I used in the tutorial.

Any ideas? Please note I am brand new to all this so am not up to speed on either the software or a lot of the photography terms used.

Many thanks in advance!!!

Not sure what version 9 is - I presume it's a version of Elements? If it is old, it may not support the later .CR2 files like those from the 400D

Version 9 is CS2 i think and that does not support the Canon raw files from anything above the 30D i think, and adobe will not write any updates for it :( sorry.

Only thing to do is convert the file to dng and then open that file up in Cs2, or buy an upgrade to Cs3, again sorry.

If you've got Photoshop 9 then thats CS2.

OK the 400D came out after Adobe introduced CS3 and therefor stopped supporting new cameras in the older version. Don't panic.:eek:

You need to convert you files from the Canon RAW CR2 format to DNG. Easy.;)

Go to the Adobe web site and download the DNG converter . It's free. Now convert you CR2 files to DNG and off you go.

Here's the link for the windows version. Download the latest one 4.3.1

http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/product.jsp?product=106&platform=Windows

The conversion wont destroy your CR2 files but to make life easier store them in a different directory.