Car shoots - multiple cars

Edit My Images
Yes
I've done a few car shoots for friends and people I meet on car forums over the past couple of years so I'm starting to get comfortable with stuff like choosing a location, composition, lighting etc. I'm going to be doing a two-car shoot sometime fairly soon though which I've never done before. Wondered what, if any, difference having two cars in some of the shots would make, in terms of location (does it need to be somewhere with a lot more space/less backdrop clutter), composition (avoiding very shallow DOF, how to "pose" two cars to look good together), that sort of thing?

I used to read modded car mags for years and remember that kind of photography and how good they were at it.

Perhaps check out some of those types of mags for examples but I would have thought 2 cars is rare because it does not work well in my opinion

Well the cars in question are both Ford Mustangs - one a 1965 GT350 Fastback and the other a 2016 GT. Hoping that they'll work well together!

Whats the final output? For magazines it would be a couple of shots side by side, maybe nose to nose, then detailed shots to show the differences, interior (dashes, seats, stereo etc), wheels, lights, that sort of thing.

Perhaps two together at traffic lights?

If you can shoot from another car then moving shots are always good, side by side, one slightly ahead to help framing.

This is good I think.

Looks like they used wide angle lens and a couple of strong lights.

DOF is not such a problem with very wide lenses

You could try something similar if you can get hold of a generator and lights to run off it.

Then you can drive to a good spot and have a go.

rs-vs-m2-2016-058.jpg

Last edited: