CC please

Edit My Images
Yes
I've often said that I don't shoot people but there is always an exception, isn't there?

A good mate of mine, Richard is (amongst other things) an author. He is about to have some of his work published and wanted an authors mugshot for the back cover.
Obviously because of my reasonable proficiency at capturing cars howling past I was the first choice for photographer. Or was it because I own a camera and will work for beer? :shrug:

The literary work consists of a collection of ghost stories so the shoot was themed to suit. We decided it would be a laugh to shoot him in a smoking jacket and cravat, in an armchair in front of his brick fireplace. In a sort of Tales from the Crypt style. Then I did a couple of low key head and shoulders shots, with a variety of sinister expressions. It was actually a great laugh.

This is my first attempt at this stuff, please tell me what you think of the shots and styles in this selection.

Book3webcopy.jpg

This one was a bit of a misunderstanding.
I said he would have to buy me chinese food after the shoot was over.
He thought I said "Give me Fu Manchu".
FuManchuwebcopy.jpg

This is one we like to call "I've Farted"
fartedwebcopy.jpg

I tried a few processed in sepia.
lowkey1Sepiawebcopy.jpg

lowkeywebcopy.jpg

OK, give me "Here's Johnny"
HeresJohnnywebcopy.jpg

And the one which we think is the best candidate.
"Not around the eyes"
notaroundtheeyeswebcopy.jpg

They look very self conscious, obviously posed pics, although they're getting better towards the end, but look at that huge nose shadow across the left of his face in the mono shots. Don't worry - everyone makes these mistakes, but you need to learn to look for these things.

The guy seems to be projecting himself as he'd like to be seen rather than like he is. Your job as the tog is to capture the latter version. He needs to look a lot more relaxed and natural I reckon. :)