Beginner Cheap Filters ?

Name
Paul
Edit My Images
Yes
As a complete beginner I need all the kit but can't afford it. Don't laugh but I have bought a two pack of UV and polarising filter for the princely sum of £8.

Are these as poor as the price suggests they are ?

Do you really need to ask? Joking aside, it’s pretty much always the case of you get what you pay for. I personally have been through the ‘buy rubbish buy twice’ scenario more times than I care to admit.

The usual adage here is why pay hundreds for a lens which has been skill fully crafted after years of development and design only to put a £4 filter on the end of it. You will most likely ruin any quality in your images. Yes, search for used bargains, but don’t buy crap. If you can’t afford it, save up or manage without. :)

I’ve not used UV filters on the lenses for many years and never damaged a lens yet (looks round quickly for some real wood!).

I did buy a cheap polariser when I started and it was pretty rubbish. I’ve since bought a good one for the biggest diameter lens, which happens to be the one I use it most on anyway, and some step down rings to it'll fit on the smaller diameter ones if needed.

I've also not bothered with UV filters for ages. But polarising filters are useful.
I did once while on holiday in the USA buy a similar twin pack of UV and polariser made by SunPak. The polariser did the job but I've not used them in years.
Hoya seem to be the average standard for consumer filters. Decent enough quality and not too expensive.

I'd say, use the cheap one, if it's ok then fine. Chances are if you get seriously into photography, you'll want to upgrade your lenses, so you'll need to get bigger filters at that stage anyway.
For example a lot of beginner kit lenses take 52mm or 55mm filters, but if you upgrade your main lens, you may find you need a 67mm filter.