Chester Zoo Trip

Edit My Images
Yes
We had a trip out to Chester Zoo on Sunday, weather wasn't all that great, the crowds were horrible in places (the ignorance of some people never ceases to amaze me) and so many of the animals weren't visible, but still managed to get a few shots I was pleased with:

Tiger, taken with my clangy EF 90-300 at 300mm, f5.6

My favourite Asian Elephant shot of the day, taken with Tamron Adaptall 70-210 wide open at f3.8, ISO 500:

I don't suppose anyone could I.D this little fella for me please?

There were many more but I've not had chance to edit them all yet. All images clickable for larger versions.

I should have said I am not an expert, but I was in Kenya earlier this month and saw a few glimpses of these. Didn't manage to get a shot so you're lucky it stayed still for you! Think my ID is correct after looking up on wikipedia

Thankyou very much for your comments. I like to prove you can do wildlife (well when I say wild life...but hey they still move!) shots with old MF lenses :)

Talking of wildlife, does anyone know of a good sanctury with hides in the west yorkshire area?

#2 for me, texture in the elephant shot is great. Despite many attempts at this sort of shot i never got close to one like this.

#2 for me, texture in the elephant shot is great. Despite many attempts at this sort of shot i never got close to one like this.

Thankyou very much - it was the exact look I was after and I was extremely pleased to have managed it, especially as it was with one of my many manual focus lenses. I started the day off with an EF90-300mm which is a horrible lens but I wanted the extra reach. I later swapped to my 70-210 Tamron Adaptall and I'm really glad I did, the image quality is a lot better.