Beginner Choice of Camera

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

My first post here, my apologies if this is in the wrong place!

I am looking into getting a camera to help me take some close up pictures of some PCBs (electronic circuits) that I make. I have no photography experience at all, so I'm somewhat stuck as to what would be a good choice. The subject matter would typically be around the 50mm x 20mm size, with lots of fine points of detail. I have a budget of around £250 - £300 max, and have seen some pretty positive reviews of the Sony dsc hx400v. And added bonus for me is that it can take video footage, and that I could conceivably use it for general photography too (which is becoming more and more interesting the more I read into it!). However, I would be most interested to here if anyone has any experience with the hx400v, or any suitable alternatives/considerations within that price range.

Many thanks for all of your time. :)

Sparky

I'll qualify my comments by saying that I know little about the current state of the camera market in general or that camera in particular.

That said, superzoom lenses often have significant compromises, most notably in sharpness and evenness across the frame.
If you get a superzoom you'll need a good tripod too. In fact you'll probably want one anyway for what you're doing, as well as a remote release.

The key feature for your application will be the minimum focusing distance. Some compact and bridge cameras do this very well; others don't at all

Who are the images for? How professional a result do you want to create?

Lighting your PCBs will make more difference to the quality of the results than almost anything else, though, so make sure that you budget for it and get a camera with a hot shoe.

I am looking into getting a camera to help me take some close up pictures of some PCBs (electronic circuits) that I make.