Christmas pressie for a complete newbie...

Name
Kell
Edit My Images
Yes
...not me this time.

One of my best mates has told me his son wants a DSLR for Christmas.

I want to buy him something to go with it.

What would you buy them that's non-brand specific (that is, I don't know if he's going Nikon/Canon etc), and about £20?

Ideas so far include a small gorilla pod or some sort of bag - but which bag? - or a book. Again, which book?

Any ideas welcomed.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Digital photography for dummies? I think there are a couple of titles (digital photography, Digital SLR photography etc)

TBH, a small Gorillapod is (IMO) as useful as a chocolate teapot for SLR use (or indeed, anything other than [possibly] holding a flash gun), although the bigger ones (SLR Zoom and above) are quite useful when fitted with a reasonable head.

Have a look in charity shops and see what books they have in - our local Oxfam shop often has a selection of photography books in, both instructional and inspirational.

Sometimes 'remainder' bookshops like The Works have digital photography books in stock, which include the usual basics about DSLR photography and tutorials on Photoshop type software. Perhaps one of those might do if they have any in stock? Or an online search of book-sellers might find something suitable and within budget?

I wouldn't get him a cheap/mini tripod though, just in case his new camera falls off the thing and breaks... in which case you'll probably be about as popular as dysentery! :whistle:

Edit: Not sure how old your mate's son is and whether this might be suitable or a bit too advanced for him? Anyway, it's within budget and it's a newly released and revised version so it should be up-to-date! https://www.amazon.co.uk/Complete-G...872&sr=1-1&keywords=digital+photography+guide