Beginner Complete beginner

Name
David Bayley
Edit My Images
Yes
I decided to have a little play with my dslr this evening. I'm a complete beginner using a proper camera so try not to be to harsh. After watching a few tutorials I was stupidly advised in to going straight in to manual mode. Some 9f the pictures were ok ish but could be a lot better. I switched to shutter priority this evening and I quite happy with the results so far.
DSC_0214_1.JPG DSC_0209_1.JPG

Manual has its uses, but to begin with, stick to aperture or shutter priority. It will make life a lot easier for you.
You'll learn what happens when you adjust one of them and let the camera figure out the correct exposure.

Not bad for first efforts :)
Did you use a tripod? Camera shake at low shutter speeds is not a good thing!

Figuring out the subject is a major hurdle for beginners. You also have to keep an eye on the background - in this case the sky which is a bit uninteresting, and the house in the second shot.
A different viewpoint can hide the house.

I'd suggest just going out and taking as many shots as you can - maybe 1 in a hundred! wiill be keepers :) (judging by my efforts)

They were taken without a tripod, I'm surprised they are clear without camera shake but I was concentrating more on the affect at the time.
Yes, i only noticed the house after I had got home to view the photos, again concentrating to much on what's in the middle of the photo and not all the surroundings.
Unfortunately the first photo has a empty beer can just in the top left of the frame but I didn't fancy scaling the water to remove it.
I've also turned on the photo information in the bottom right of the photo, I'm not sure if this is a good or bad thing. My reasoning was to later help me learn on what I had been doing at the time. It is saved in raw+jpeg so I'm hoping it could be edited out if needed at a later date?