Complete Newbie off camera flash question....

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi All,

I'm completely novice when it comes to flash and need your guidance.

I currently only use an SB400 flash with my Nikon D40x.

I am interested in some off camera flash and have some questions regarding 'Slave' Flashes and triggering.

Can I trigger any flash, off camera simply by it reacting to the physical flash of the SB400 on hotshoe? By this I mean the off camera flash reacting to the SB400 as it fires, thus firing itself?:wacky:

I appreciate there would be disadvantages to firing this way in comparison to using radio / infrared triggering, but is this an option? If so do I need anything to make it work other than the two flashes?

I've kinda got this impression from a couple of sites I've looked at but I wanted confirmation from the experts!:clap::wave:

If this is the case then surely this would work with unlimited flashes? Are there distance / field of view limitations?

This:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=390031640829

Will allow you to use an on camera flash to fire one off camera. You might want to think about using the less powerful built in flash to trigger the SB400 off camera? I dont think you can reduce the power of the built in flash on the D40 (you cant on the D60, I looked last night) but you could put something like tracing paper over it to reduce its impact.

Josh,

If you buy something like a PT-04 trigger off ebay (just type 'PT-04' into google or ebay) then this will activate any flash attached to the receiver if you use the transmitter unit on top of the camera. This won't do metered flash (so will always fire on full power) and I believe the SB-400 doesn't have any manual settings so you an adjust the power output.