Compliancy and html verify ?

Forbiddenbiker

The Enforcer
Name
Adam
Edit My Images
Yes
Excuse me for asking for help on my non photographic business site guys.

Firstly I'm a self taught amateur and I constructed this site via cut and pasting and lots of experiment. This is about my tenth site, so although I know a bit, I actually still don't understand how half of what I should. :puke:

I've been trying to get my head around why my site now fails html verification and I'm quite lost.

Take the welcome page for example. www.optiflowuk.com

If you run it through www.validator.w3.org it gets 5 errors.

But for the life of me I can't work out what the heck to adjust....?? :help:

I'm wondering if I should put up the code to my php header file ... maybe its not coded right?

Thanks

Error 1: You need to point the HTML to the "xmlns", just copy paste this:
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
And put it in place of your <html>

Error 2: You haven't closed one of the divs.
Add </div> just before </body> at the very end of your page source.

All I can really work out atm, I think the <html> tag at the beginning is where most errors are steming from.

At a quick guess I would say its the use of your TM (trade mark) character symbol - its not HTML compliant.

edited to add:

try using &trade instead

edited to add 2:

Just noticed the character set you are using - if &trade does not work. Use &(ampersand)#8482

<html> should be your FIRST tag, right at the top of the document.

you're missing a </div> somewhere, make sure you count your tags in and out to make sure where one's missing.

Here's the top of one of my valid website pages
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">

what's all this about:

<div id="box3">
<div class="t">
<div class="b">
<div class="l">
<div class="r">