Could i justify the extra for the 500D

Name
David
Edit My Images
Yes
As the title says really, could the extra cash be justified for the 500D over the 450D.

I will not make use of the 1080p vid capture that it seems to promote.

cheers

If you're considering spending enough for a 500D, I'd strongly recommend the 40D! It's a bit of an older model, but in terms of build quality and (I think autofocussing but don't quote me on that) it's quite a long way ahead. If you can deal with 'only' 10mp, it might be a good choice! I have a 450D, but I've always been wanting a 40D, but couldn't justify the price at the time. It's pretty close to the 500D if memory serves now!

Personally I've no experience with the 500D, but do you need the video recording - if not, save the money and put it towards some good glass, buy your 450D instead. Alternatevely, look at the 40D (as above) (y)

The 500d's only improvements over the 450d are a higher res LCD and a digic4 processor. It has more megapixels, but in my opinion, this isn't really necessary and will create more noise etc.

As a 450d owner, I would highly recommend it for functionality and image quality. I do wish I had a 40d though, because the feel in hand of the 450d isn't too comfortable (although I have a battery grip which helps a lot).

There's some software you can use to get video from your 450d. It doesn't have sound, and isn't 1080p, but if you want to experiment with video on you camera you could try it. I've got it and can be fun to play with the DOF with my lenses in video. :D

The 500d's only improvements over the 450d are a higher res LCD and a digic4 processor. It has more megapixels, but in my opinion, this isn't really necessary and will create more noise etc.

As a 450d owner, I would highly recommend it for functionality and image quality. I do wish I had a 40d though, because the feel in hand of the 450d isn't too comfortable (although I have a battery grip which helps a lot).