Dartmoor River

Name
Martin Prothero
Edit My Images
Yes
Well, more of a stream than a river. This is my first attempt at longer exposure and blurring water.
Dodging the stormy weather, pretty overcast and low light levels.
Advice and comments welcome.

River1.jpg

I think I wanted more of the misty water affect but was worried about noise at longer exposures.

I like that alot did you use any filters when taking that shot ?
i think you got the water just right.(y)

Yeah it's just right. Always a danger of burning out the water entirely - you've managed to keep a fair bit of detail in it. Really good choice of shutter speed!

Don't be too put off about experimenting with longer exposures because of noise - you don't say what gear you are using but the 400 is certainly quite forgiving.

It seems to help the composition slightly taking the top off the image so you have less sky there, that bright patch detracts from the colours and the water a little.

Yeah it's just right. Always a danger of burning out the water entirely - you've managed to keep a fair bit of detail in it. Really good choice of shutter speed!

Don't be too put off about experimenting with longer exposures because of noise - you don't say what gear you are using but the 400 is certainly quite forgiving.

It seems to help the composition slightly taking the top off the image so you have less sky there, that bright patch detracts from the colours and the water a little.

Thanks for the comments.

I'm using a Nikon D40 with a Sigma 10-20mm. No filters.

I agree about the sky being a bit distracting. It does look better with it just cropped out. There was a little more sky in the original but I needed to do a bit of 'freeform straightening' to get the trees looking upright.

My first thoughts were the same as chenng, crop the sky, it's not only distracting, but with a crop your eyes will flow more comfortably through the image.
Water is fine with no hotspots.

A bit of work, and this will sing :)