Dementia series exhibition ideas.

Name
Sean
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi everyone,

I am currently studying at Falmouth and would like to ask members of this group for some opinions for my research.

How would you like to see work like the images below, taken from Kija Lucas’ Collections from Sundown, showcased?

The images are about Lucas’ grandmother suffering from dementia. Do you think it would be too insensitive to place the images around a hospital/care home.

Would a street exhibition be a good idea or would they be ignored by the public?

Would an unusual place, like the cafe in the crypt in London be a good place to showcase the work? Would an unusual place limit the amount of people who attend the exhibition?

Any other places you believe these types of images would make an impact?

Thank you for your opinions and taking the time to read.

Hi Sean, welcome to TP!
Do you think it would be too insensitive to place the images around a hospital/care home.

[caveat - my opinion!]
If you think about it, an exhibition is about getting people to see the images. If there is a message in the photos, then you're 'preaching to the converted' by displaying in a care home as many of them have areas for those suffering with dementia. A hospital might work better, but if you're hoping for people to take the time to appreciate the images, both those places would be unlikely to get much attention as the staff/visitors are likely to have other things on their mind. I would imagine both places would want calming abstracts rather than images about what is ultimately a very sad, difficult and upsetting condition. If you're talking about an exhibition with glasses of wine and invitations, then I definitely think it would be inappropriate in a care home/hospital.