Developer recommendatons...

Name
Tom
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm coming to the end of my bottle of Ilford DD-X (my first bottle of developer as I'm fairly new to film). i'm looking for a grain reducing developer (as I shoot 35mm and mostly people) that works well with Kentmere and is fairly good value - a lot of the grain reducing developers seem to be quite low dilutions like 1:1, which makes me think you'll be replacing them all the time. Would you recommend a powder version instead??

Any ideas welcome!

Cheers,
Tom

You may get as many recommendations as there are replies, but I've picked my developers based on the number of films I intend to develop and how long I expect the developer to last before it expires. This year that has meant using an old (unopened) pack of Xtol for the first time at stock strength, with replenishment (also a first) by fresh at a rate of about 70ml per 120 film. This works out to be economical as I'm not discarding the full amount as I would be if used 1+1. It has worked perfectly for me since made up in February this year, and it is always available for use.

I have never shot any Kentmere film, but it doesn't have a reputation for very fine grain and that may be an area where you can improve/reduce grain without trying all sorts of developers? Traditional films like FP4+ and HP5+ have a strong following, although perhaps not so much HP5+ in 35mm for people shots. Delta is a more modern type of film than the other 2, and is claimed to have finer grain than even Pan F+, while not being so touchy about processing. Someone else will be along shortly with other ideas for you. ;)

Last edited: