Beginner Different lens

Name
Gill
Edit My Images
No
I have been bought a early Xmas present a Canon EOS 100D DSLR. It has come with a EF-S 18-55mm II Zoom Lens. I was hoping that the lens would be smaller to enable me to carry it in a handbag, and a simpler one, is this something I can purchase or do they not exist? As you xan tell I'm a total beginner. It was very nice to have this as a present, but I was hoping for something a bit smaller.

Welcome to the forum Gill.

The EF 35mm f/2 is really small and very simple. Because they have been around for years there are lots around on the secondhand market. A really quick look found loads £250-£400.

I have the very simple EF 35mm f/2 and it's great, but is a bit buzzy. I suspect the EF 35mm f/2 IS USM is very quiet, but probably bigger.

I like using this lens... but to be honest always disliked the EF-S 18-55mm lens. I felt it had rather poor image quality.

There is a Canon EF-S 40mm pancake lens which is quite slim - but you have a fixed length lens - no zoom function. If you want to put it in a handbag, a DSLR is probably the wrong camera, even a very small one such as the 100D.
What camara would you have recommended, I would like to carry it about. I have a 30 day return apparently.

What camara would you have recommended, I would like to carry it about. I have a 30 day return apparently.
Hi and welcome to TP

Can I ask what type of subjects do you wish to photograph, as you mention carrying it in your handbag, are you for example thinking street photography or travel photography?

Have you thought about future usage such landscapes?

Knowing what you would like to photograph will aid the advice of the TP members :)

A prime (single "zoom" length" lens might offer some saving in bult but I think one big decision is the focal length. I personally wouldn't be happy with either 35 or 40mm on an APS-C camera (which is what the 100D is.)