Digital Medium Format

Name
Ivo Eman
Edit My Images
No
Hi,
I am a fanatic medium format user and shoot with a Mamiya RB67 Pro. This is a film camera and gives stunning images. We all know that developping film gets more expensive and more difficult to get done. So I am now considering making the step to digital.

The question for me is which one to go for. Does anybody has advice on how, for example, the DSLRs compare to digital backs or the Mamiya ZD camara? I have little experience and would like to have some ideas and experiences.

Cameras I am considering (disregarding the prices)
Nikon D700, Canon 5D (for the price)
Mamiya Back for RZ67, Mamiya ZD (for pixels and image quality)

Thanks,
Ivo

We all know that developping film gets more expensive and more difficult to get done.

If you are a pro shooting hundreds of rolls a year then yes it probably would be more cost effective to buy a digital back (if you had an RZ or RZProIID) But for amateurs like myself it's still way cheaper to buy 5 or 10 packs and either develop myself or use a mail order lab like DLAB7 then scan the transparencies.

Got to do the maths and see what savings could be made I suppose, though even with the digital back for the RZ you're still going to lose a big chunk of that 6x7 loveliness

I can't recommend using a digital back on the RZ.

That's what I did but although there's nothing wrong with the quality (way above any so-called full frame DSLR) the difference in sensor size/film size means that it's impossible to get any lenses that produce a wideangle effect

Some thoughts on medium format digi, in no particular order.....

You could get hold of a back for the RB for a couple of grand. It will be a small sensor though, in terms of crop factor to the 6*7 neg. This means that you will struggle to shoot anything wide.