do i need a tripod and a head?

Name
Stu
Edit My Images
Yes
hi all

i'm very new to photography and have just got myself a sony a200.

i'd like to do some landscape shots and know that i need a tripod for this. please could someone explain in newbie terms exactly what i need and what my options are ideally for less than £100

thanks in advance
stu

Hi Stu and welcome,

Being faily new here myself i had a similar question.

I originally bought a cheap Hama tripod (£25) as it had quite good reviews (for the price), hwever, i found that it really wasn't sturdy enough for me to feel comfortable attaching my camera and lens to it. I had visions of it letting go of my kit and causing untold damage.

My budget was the same as yours and after looking around on here i came across reviews about the redsnapper tripod and head so i bought one (you get 10% discount by being a member here (y))

I haven't had a chance to use it as i only received it yestrerday but i can tell you it's a really well built and high quality bit of kit.

Others on here will have a few other comments to add, but if you do a search for redsnapper on the forum, you'll probably find that it'll suit you quite well.

S

The 2nd Redsnapper recommendation of the thread - get a Redsnapper tripod and ball head, and that should come in on budget!! :D

nice one, thanks guys...

so what model would it be and how do you get the 10% discount?

cheers
stu

think about the head. If you plan on panoramas or suchlike a head where you can turn the head without mucking up the position of the camera is useful. A Pan/Tilt head offers this, but some ball heads can do this as well.

with what i have heard on here - redsnapper seem the way to go with your budget - you will always enjoy a good tripod.

I dont see why you need a trypod for landscapes? if you are taking shots at night or low light then yes you will but for just mid day landscapes then no you dont need a tripod.