Do many people buy photographic prints?

Adg

Name
Adam
Edit My Images
No
Hi all

Given how knowledgable this forum is I thought there'd be many who could provide some pearls of wisdom on the above subject.

I currently work as a property photographer full time but I would like to use my skills to potentially earn some extra profit through photos I have taken personally. I may have posed a similar question here before except I now have my own platform to sell my photography, being my own website. I previously experimented with Etsy a long time ago but found it very saturated and not particularly ideal for photo prints.

My website was previously just a portfolio site that ultimately helped towards me obtaining my current role but have now adapted it in order to sell my prints online, consisting of cityscapes, architecture, regional photography i.e Surrey, outer London etc.

I have never expected a large amount of activity and I often promote my photos and prints through Instagram. However despite positive feedback (and thankfully some requests off friends, family and acquaintances I have not really had much interest outside of that). I have noticed there is not a large amount of photographers who offer prints to sell, especially outside of galleries or craft fairs. Whereas these settings would be the ideal environments to sell (and hopefully plan to in the future) of course given the current climate it hasn't been possible. Of course there is added risk here of printing to great cost with little sales.

Observing the insides of peoples homes through work I also find there's not a lot photography that tends to hang on peoples walls, however stylised art style prints - in particular those 1930s style travel posters of English locations are very popular as of late (Have also experimented with these too)Otherwise its the usual generic Ikea style London bus/phonebox style canvasses etc.