Do you need a degree to enjoy photography?

Name
paul
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi, not sure to put this, but here goes. My eighteen year old niece has just finished a college course where she received a diploma for her course which she passed with distinction. Together we have a lot of banter which she ridicules my work which I do for personal enjoyment and have no training, no qualifications only self taught. Meeting up at a family meal she asked to borrow my camera which was fitted with a 35mm prime lens. After ten minutes she returned asking how you zoom on this camera. Couldn't stop laughing, saying its a prime and you might need to change the iso as it was set high from a previous shot. She asked me what was iso and did my camera shoot in auto mode. Surely a two year course could teach students such things as iso, surely that's basic. What really annoyed me was she was a proper photography as she had a diploma - that really wound me up, surely there's nothing wrong than finding your own way, besides I know the difference between a zoom and a prime!

What was her course in? I'm guessing photography... well actually I hope not as that is the worse course in history she has taken if it was. Exposure should be one of the first lessons though not auto moders that let the camera decide.

Edit: Clarified answer NO

Last edited:
No. Of course you don't. That would be ridiculous.

You also don't need one to appreciate music or painting or dancing or architecture or... anything.

Steve.

Last edited:
I wouldn't say so.

I have friends and friends of friends that have taken photography A levels/collage courses, no offence to them, but they can't take decent pictures to save a life. Their exposure is all over the place, there is motion blur, they say they need the best cameras to get a clear shot etc.