Does it need lubricating?

Asha

Blithering Idiot
Name
Asha
Edit My Images
Yes
Today I’m in my darkroom ….. First time in ages!:banana:

I’ve dug out my old Smiths clock ( I just love these old methods as opposed to modern tech) .

Anyway it’s not so happy with itself in so far as running slow at times , like really struggling to turn for a few seconds then it regains its rythme for a while until it struggled against another stubborn spot.

I’ve tried cycling it a number of times and it was showing some improvement but then following a pause, it’s problem has returned.

I’ve removed the back and I have some very fine ( sewing machine) oil , however I am no expert with clock workings so I’m asking you lot for advice.
Does it need lubricating and if possible to do it myself, what bit do I lubricate ?

Attachments

• F5917E3C-D759-4B53-AE29-102A58F351D2.jpeg
    F5917E3C-D759-4B53-AE29-102A58F351D2.jpeg
    86.3 KB · Views: 11
  • D2BFE216-556E-444B-AD01-415E9DB79A19.jpeg
    D2BFE216-556E-444B-AD01-415E9DB79A19.jpeg
    114.9 KB · Views: 11
Sounds like it does and machine oil is OK.

First, take the mechanism out, you need to get to both sides.

Use a cocktail stick to apply a small amount of the oil and make sure you don’t apply too much. It won’t harm it, it’s just a waste and will run down and drip everywhere.

As to where, on the end of the spindles where they come through the frame, it looks like it’s countersunk. Only put enough to fill it, if some runs that’s OK, just don’t soak it. No need to oil any of the cogs, they don’t normally need it. Also, put a couple of drops on the inside of the mainspring. That stops it from sticking on itself.

Its not that hard a thing to do and nothing ventured and all that.

Paul

TBH, I'd get it professionally serviced. You MIGHT get it running smoothly again by adding a drop of the correct oil in the right place(s) but it'll probably get worse again as the oils all harden up again.