Dog sport event

Name
Helen
Edit My Images
No
hello guys, I hope I'm in the right section.

I'm an amateur photographer, a friend of mine that is organizing a local dog event asked me to be the event photographer (it's a dog sport called agility), I had an entry level Nikon but a while ago upgraded to a Nikon d300, since there are lots of extra features Im not familiar with and this is a huge project for me, I'm looking forward to any tips related to the camera settings (I own 70-300 nikkor VR). I'm sure that the manual would help but there are only few days since the event and i don't have enough time. So.. I need low shutter speed (1/320 or lower) and I should be at least 15m away from the dog but inside the field, the weather will probably be good. Any tips related to the frame, technique or whatever you would consider as important would be really helpful for me but what is more important for me is to use my camera with the best way possible so tips for shutter, ISO, colors, tips for blurring the background or whatever I can't even think right now would be nice, plus a light edit at photoshop afterwards. It's not professional but I'd love to give the best result. Thanks in advance! Any help will be highly appreciated!!

Agility is fast and furious, so you are going to need a shuuter speed of a lot more then 1/320, 1/500 min and better at 1/1000 so you may need to up the ISO my D300 really didn't
like to go above 400iso
You will also need a fast focusing lens, not used the 70/300 so no idea how fast it is, I used use a 70/200 2.8 VR, it's the larger aperture that blurs the background.
Do you know anyone with dogs that you can go for a walk with and practice fast moving animals ?

Helen, Ingrid is right - you're going to struggle, even in bright sunlight!
I've been to a fair few agility shows and even competed in them, the dogs are super fast, and if you're photographing Collies, you'll struggle as they're like lightening!