DPP questions

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi I'm using DPP to convert Raw files into Tiffs (16bit)
When I convert and save it comes up with the following options :
Quality setting
I set this to 10, I presume this is for Jpegs ?
Output setting
Output resolution this is set to 350 what does this do ?
I set it to the maximum 6000
when I have converted and saved the file and close the window, it comes up with the message "image was edited do you want to save" , if I enter yes will the overwrite the origanal Raw file ?
I hope this makes sense I am over my head with the computer side to things as I'm relatively new to digital
Pete

Not familiar with DPP Pete BUT.

When you first start with any software package it is not a bad idea to take a card of snaps that are of little interest to you and try your software out on them, so that any muckups are not too disastrous.

there was a thread earlier this week with a link to teh canon video tutorials for DPP : http://www.usa.canon.com/content/dpp2/index.html

Quality setting

10 sounds like a good move. Less is useful for decreasing the size of jpeg files where you need to eg. for putting them in your gallery on TP.

Output setting
I set it to the maximum 6000

this says how big the physical print size of the image will be. I dont have a full handle on teh detail, but basically its the scaling conversion factor for taking your pixels and saying how many will be fitted in an inch of print. Yours at 6000 should look good on postage stamps, or possibly the head of a pin. 300 appears to be a good figure, you can set it as the default value in Tools - Preferences - General Settings

when I have converted and saved the file and close the window, it comes up with the message "image was edited do you want to save" , if I enter yes will the overwrite the origanal Raw file ?