DSLR Advice Needed

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi. I have been doing photography on and off for 8 years (Although I handled cameras from the age of around 7).

I started with a Practica film slr, then a Nikon F60 and completed an A Level, getting a B.

Afterwards, I lost interest for a time (this happens frequently as I tend to switch between obsessional interests -I have aspergers syndrome) but then I got the urge to try a digital slr and saved and got a Nikon D200.

To cut a long story short, I found it too heavy to control in ways. It was an effort to get my shots (even though I am a 5'10 female) and I hit financial issues so I sold it with the 2 lenses from my old nikon f60.

Thus, now I am starting anew. I Focus mainly on portraiture, macro, landscape and architectural photography... nothing sporting or especially fast moving. I like being able to work fully manual but having the option to do auto if I am in a lazy mood or lacking time. I need something that wont be TOO heavy to carry on a mostly daily basis.

My mother ordered a Nikon D60 for me with 2 lenses....but I am thinking it is going to be too small and far too much a beginners camera for me, plus reviews were not that great.

So now, I am stuck and confused. I originally was drawn to the Olympus E510 as it feels great in my hands, and seems to have a lot of features, but the lenses cost a bomb and apparently, it is rubbish at higher ISO?

I also have begun to be drawn to the Canon 40D in terms of build and appearance (Build quality is very important to me, I hate the plasticky look of some cameras).

The Nikon D80 has also been an option, but it is outdated now (apparently)

The Pentax K20D has also drawn me, and I hear the Sony A300 is a great camera.