Editing software

Name
Lee
Edit My Images
No
Hi, I'm a wedding photographer that shoots the odd video in my spare time, nothing serious, just of my kids etc. A full frame canon dslr is my weapon of choice as I already have it for photography.

I would like to take my videography further and maybe venture into weddings in the future. I'm already familiar with the wedding environment and have a good friend who's a wedding photographer that said I can accompany him to weddings to get experience.

As I've not taken this seriously in the past I haven't bothered with any editing software I've just messed around with movie maker. I know that I now need to invest in something better so this is what has brought me here. I only want to buy once, meaning I don't want to buy something basic them as I progress have to upgrade to something different. On the other hand I don't really want to jump in head first and spend £600 in case I decide it's not for me after 6 months.

Can somebody please recommend some editing software that is capable, but maybe not the highest end of the price range.

Thanks

Davinci resolve is worth a look. Works on pc as well as mac.
If you have a mac, Final Cut Pro x is fantastic and can be had for £200 with the education discount.

Lightworks is also an option along with Final Cut and Resolve (all of them are about the £300 mark, not sure what has happened to the FCP price, it was £198 when I last looked)

The Lightworks free version has limited outputs, but still a professional quality video editing tool at a "reasonable" price - and its British, which is always nice :)

It runs on Windows, Mac and Linux, which is also nice.