Efficient workflow and file managing?

Name
Chris
Edit My Images
No
I'm a slob, I'll be the first to admit it, and this is evident if you look at my hard-drive. I have 1 hard-drive deidicated to just photography, but it's a mess. So I'm interested in how others organise their digital photos once they're off the card and on the drive. I'm also keen to hear what is considered a good and efficient workflow routine, from organising a shoot to the final results.

I've got no idea, I am a newbie! :shrug:

I don't even know what TOG means!

As a die-hard film user and relative newbie to digital, I've organised my pics along the lines of films...

I use CD-Rs as my primary form of storage. One CD-R holds around 50-60 RAW pics. I store each CD in a lever arch folder, together with a "contact sheet" of all the pics on it.

I number the CD-Rs sequentially. This fits in well with my strategy of numbering each roll of film I shot. I got up to about #170 before I went over to digital - I was never the most prolific photographer - I shot film no. 1 when I was about 15!!

For convenience and an extra backup, I also copy the files on each CD-R on to an external hard disk (Maxtor 1tb), so I'm not constantly swapping CDs around when I want to view my old pics. When I get around to getting a slide/negative scanner, I'll add my scanned negs/slides on to the hard disk.

I thought long and hard about how to organise my pics. When you're creating hundreds of files, you need to have some sort of system in place, or things get out of control pretty quickly :nuts:

A.

When you're creating hundreds of files, you need to have some sort of system in place, or things get out of control pretty quickly :nuts:

Tell me about it! I've done about 15 sets and I'm already pulling my hair out trying to find what I'm looking for, especially when you've got the originals, then the final copies of them after editing, it's a nightmare :bang:

So what does tog mean?