Eliminating foreground objects by moving the camera, is it feasible?

sirch

Lu-Tze
Admin
Name
The other Chris
Edit My Images
Yes
I have seen an interesting looking tree that I would like to take a photo of. The part of the tree that I want to photograph is pretty much horizontal (lying down, on its side) and can only be photographed from one side. The problem is that there is a smaller tree in front of it that rather ruins the shot and the smaller tree is, I think, too large to clone out and I am not that good at cloning anyway. So I was thinking of taking two (or more) shots from different positions and then merging them so that the foreground tree is removed.

Perhaps an easier way of explaining this is to imagine you are photographing a shop front but there is a lamppost between you and the shop and you want to get rid of the lamppost. By taking one photo and then moving to one side and taking another the lamppost will be in a different position in each photo and so by merging the lamppost can be eliminated.

The question is, is this possible or sensible? I am concerned that distortion caused by changing the camera position will mean that the images won’t merge exactly. Is it better to keep the camera parallel to the subject when moved or is it better to keep the lens pointing at a single point and move the camera in an arc about that point?

I think you'll still get parallax distortion or at least there will be something visibly "odd" about the shot.

But give it a go. Then you'll know for sure.

What you are suggesting is the way that they do frozen shots in movies and then rotate them. Say someone does a ninja jump, freezes in mid-air and you then have this view of being able to look around them, say 180 degrees in a couple of seconds. They do this by having a ring of individual cameras which all fire off and capture a still image at the critical (mid-air) point. These stills are then assembled frame by frame to produce this effect.