Beginner EOS 250D - Auto ISO and Exposure

Name
Pedro
Edit My Images
Yes
As a relative beginner I've been using my trusty 2000D for a few years. But I liked the idea of a Flip LCD screen plus other features that the 250D has, so I decided to buy one.

Although I'm generally happy with the picture quality of the 250D, I've noticed a key difference compared to the 2000D, namely Auto ISO.
I'm finding that the 250D tends to use much higher Auto ISO settings than my 2000D when taking an identical picture. More noticeable in close-up / low light conditions.
There may also be a difference in the evaluative metering between the 2000D and 250D - again only noticeable indoors.

For example, if I take a picture of a focus test chart at a distance of 2m in Av mode, the 250D tends to look washed out.

With general outdoor photography the 250D nails the exposure perfectly.

The 250D uses a more advanced processor than the 2000D. I am tending to think that the processor is designed to bump up the iso in the semi manual modes (Av and Tv).

Just wondering if anyone has experienced different Auto ISO or exposure quirks with their different cameras. Thanks for any comments or advice.

No two cameras will have the same algorithm (mathematical formula) to balance the exposure. Because the engineers will tweak the settings to take advantage of the sensor (or hide its shortcomings)

It’s one of those areas that I never really think about - I’ve said it before but getting hung up on the minutiae of exposure will get on the way of creating good pictures (cos the picture is the reason you picked up a camera).
Just to add - keep at it; and share some of your shots.

A question that I’d like you to acknowledge as I struggle to see how this works:
Why buy the latest entry level camera when for the same money you could have bought something much better but older?

Two more things:

Yoy should be able to set the range of allowable ISO that AutoISO can chose similar to this

images.jpeg