Epson RX685 - Spripey Prints (Very specific problem)

Jimmy_Lemon

TPer Emeritus
Name
Tom
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey Guys,

This is really specific and I am not expecting anyone to have a solution, but you never know.

I have been using Epson printers for years and know how the operate pretty well. I have been using my RX685 for a few years now and have always run cartridges, but recently changed to a continuous ink supply.

Since that change I have a really annoying problem. As soon as I reset the cartridges my prints come out with very thing white lines (in the direction the print head moves).

I have done the obvious head cleaning and nozzle checks etc and it always comes out fine, but go to print again and the stripes are there. VERY ODD!

The only solution is to turn the printer off. I haven't found out the exact time it has to be off, but it seems to be around an hour. When I turn it back on it all works fine.

This leads me to think that either the turning on/off process does a special sort of clean that fixes it or something is reset or god knows what happens, but it is damn annoying none the less.

I am struggling to see how the CISS is at fault, but it did all start happening at the same time, but I am guessing it is something to do with the chip re-setting, rather than the system itself.

It really is bugging me, and I can't seem to find anyone out there with a similar issue.

So anyone here ever had the same?

(oh and before everyone posts the usual "blocked heads" etc it isn't anything that simple, trust me, I have tried everything ;) )

Hey Guys,
The only solution is to turn the printer off. I haven't found out the exact time it has to be off, but it seems to be around an hour. When I turn it back on it all works fine.

It really is bugging me, and I can't seem to find anyone out there with a similar issue.
So anyone here ever had the same?
)