Epson Stylus R2880 - mountain of questions ;) ;)

Name
Jack
Edit My Images
Yes
hey guys

ok so here's the situation. just got myself a reasonably priced secondhand epson stylus r2880 online. it's got about half ink in it, and i'm going to do some test prints (though i have yet to buy any paper, see below) - i have identified some things i think i need to get started and would very much appreciate if you would look over what i have said and give me your input. i am still learning!

need:

recommended epson ink retailer - i intend to upgrade to a cis one day but at the moment that is a little much for me.

paper source - and would i need an icc profile for it? if so - could y'all recommend me glossy, semi-gloss and any other variety of paper that is 'certified' for the epson? i'm thinking that a link to a photo supplier who sells paper and is patient enough to answer a few questions may help me?

will i need calibrate the printer itself? how would i go about doing this?

how much good would it do me to calibrate my macbook pro monitor? would i need to buy something like a spyder or colormunki, or is there some way of doing this with the miracle of software? ;)

anything i missed? (usually is)..

many many thanks for your wisdom and time. (y)

-k

using the epson inks epson papers will have ICC profiles like wise many manufactuers have ICC profiles for epson ink. if you change to a CIS then you'll need to get new profiles made up.

fotospeed provide free profiles for their paper or you can get profiles made for you as well.

Since I review a lot of papers I use my own profiling system.

for bog standard gloss I recomend kirkland gloss paper (you can buy it on ebay) or fotospeeds own gloss (kirkland a lot cheaper). for a luster type I like ilford smooth pearl or fotospeed oyster.

You'll need to profile your monitor as part of the whole getting accurate prints workflow.

spyder3 is good

hello again POAH