Equestrian Photography.

Edit My Images
Yes
I am off to watch my wife do some show jumping this weekend and have been 'invited' to take some photo's of her and her friends!

Being almost a complete novice and certainly having not done any sport photography I would appreciate a little advice please with regards to set up. I am using my Nikon D50 with a Sigma 70-300mm APO DG. Most lilkely I will be using either a monopod or possibly tripod.

Normally I wouldn't bother asking something like this but having looked at some of the pics on different websites there seems to be a load of different approaches... and god help me if I get it wrong :thumbsdown: :help:

Cheers,

Bob

Do a search for some of Hacker's recent posts, top stuff

Talk about fast response.... 1 minute after posting this up and I am looking at Hackers posts and tips... Thanks very much... I may even work up the nerve to post a couple of shots from this weekend (providing she does not fall off!!)

Hi Bob, not much I can tell you really! Use a monopod if you can, it helps to steady the camera and lens but is still versatile enough for movement. For the actual showjumping I try and position myself forward of the fence at an angle of about 45*, if you are too side on to the fence the wings and or flags can obscure the picture, likewise if you are too far in front the riders face can be obscured by the horses neck.

If the weather is very sunny and bright I tend to use centre-weighted metering as it gives better results. White/grey horses, white breeches and white fences can make it difficult which is why I've moved away from matrix metering in good weather. I'm sure I don't need to tell you to use AF-C when focussing to track the horse as it approaches the fence, I usually concentrate on the neck of the horse or the riders torso.

Have a good time and take a look at my website, I did a show at the weekend and uploaded about 170 images, it might give you some ideas.

Colin.