Equipment for a wedding - amateur photographer

Name
Tori
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

I am an amateur photographer, and my friend has asked me to take some photos for his wedding. They have a VERY tight budget and so another of his friends and myself will take the photos.

I have:
Nikon D50
18-35mm Nikkor
55-200mm NIKKOR

but think I might need a different lens for the wedding... but on a low budget at the mo.

Please could you recommend which lens I should buy or which lenses you guys would use? As I say, I've got a good eye for photographs and am great at photoshop but am still learning the technical bits :eek:)

Many thanks,

I don't shoot Nikon so can't really suggest a lens but if you're on a limited budget then it might be better spent on a flash...

or you may well find you get their and the registrar or priest tells you you can't use your new shiny flash.

Hiring may be an options, and it'd be worth serarching on here for advise, and working on your low light techniques and kit

If flash is not allowed in the ceremony, then you will need some fast glass.

Also for the reception you will need a flash for indoors/fill etc.

Ideally you should have two body's, and two flash's, fast glass and a nice set of focal lengths. Obviously this is a one off so cant be helped. You could always hire a decent body and lens(s) for the occasion.

Make sure you know how to effectively use your gear before hand...

Try searching the forums for all the other threads like this - there are plenty

ok, firstly, be prepared to hear things in this thread you may not like. some don't look favourably on people doing weddings as a favour simply because they have a DSLR. You may get some comments that air on the negative side.

From my POV, is your friend familiar with your work and know fully what to expect from what your capabilities are?