Event Photography

Edit My Images
No
I am new to photography.
And i have been going round and round in circles.. Im hoping someone out there can help me.

I am currently using a Canon 450. And I unfortunately bought it with the starter lens. 18-55mm.
I am shooting an event on Friday. It will be very dark. I have a budget of £350 to buy a new lens or flash.

I do this slot once or twice a week. Its a club night. So i shoot the customers and DJ. Thats it.
But i have to use a really high ISO which is making my pictures very grainy.

What piece of equipment could i buy next to help with this?

50mm 1.4 and a good Flash?

Thanks

Hannah

Hannah,
What sort of event are we talking about here? Sport? Disco? Concert? How far away are your subjects and how close can you get?

Alan

Disco events. I take pictures of the people who are attending, so group pictures where i am only 5-10 feet away from the subject.

And then maybe 1/2 shots of the crowd on the dance floor.. and thats about it.

Althouh i have done a couple of other events where the event is much bigger, with a big venue and huge crowd.
But my 18-55mm has be ok to use the only problem i have is using a high ISO which is losing quality in my photos.

Maybe worth looking for some noise reduction software / plugins for your editing application. Needs more effort in post processing of course but can produce some good results. Flash - play subtle - and turn down the output to avoid the rabbits in the headlights look. As said, takes time to learn how to use flash well.

Alan

How about putting your 350 quid and the camera you have in to buy a camera that handles noise better? a new lens isnt going to make noise go away.. flash your probably already using and just want a better one.. you still have noise...

Just a thought :)

I shoot nightclubs weekly, Id personally say get a 580EXII if looking at a canon flash.