External hard drives, do they slow your laptop up?

Edit My Images
Yes
I am desperate for memory and was thinking in terms of a 500 gig external hard drive but my better half who knows far more than me about computers has painted this dark apocolyptic picture of all the life blood being sucked out of my little laptop whenever it is hooked up to this massive external brain. Is she right or just scaring me out of spending money? Any advice, warnings or encouragement would be much appreciated.

Cheers Paul

You are doing the typical mixing up of hard drive (storage space) with RAM (memory) thing....

An external drive when plugged into a computer will not slow the computer down BUT if the computer is reading and writing to the external drive this will be slower than reading and writing to an internal drive.

No I'm no expert and can only speak from experience. But I have a 500gb external HD which i normally use attached to my PS3 to store photos, music and videos on.

Occasionally to add things to it, or mess about with photos on Gimp, I connect it to my laptop. I have not noticed any slowing down of my laptop while I do this. However I emphasie it is rarely connected to my laptop and when it is, i'm only ever runnning 1 program at a time.

Hope this helps in some way.

Sorry for the confusion Cowasaki , yes I do mean storage space rather than memory

A USB2 external hard drive can be as fast as an internal. Indeed it may be faster than an internal 5400rpm laptop drive but will certainly be outgunned by a dual 7200rpm SATA RAID0 pair. You shouldn't notice any difference in your laptops performance.

should not make any difference
I have 8 external drives connected by firewire 800 very fast

A USB2 external hard drive can be as fast as an internal. Indeed it may be faster than an internal 5400rpm laptop drive