Film and properties

Name
Bartosz Wozniak
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello everyone. I am fairly new to this film business, however I now have several rolls of film, which I bought of a member here and I need some help here. I don't know about the properties of each film, and I don't know how good each one is. I think that there are probably a fair few people in the same position.

Could anyone please do like a simple tutorial, with the types of film and the properties they have?? It could look something like this (I don't know whether what I am writing is true, its just a guideline for the layout):

Fuji Velvia - Good Saturation, fine grain
Truprint film - Pale colours, not very sharp

etc. etc.

I would be really grateful and I think that this would also be helpful for others.

Thanks!

Hello everyone. I am fairly new to this film business, however I now have several rolls of film, which I bought of a member here and I need some help here. I don't know about the properties of each film, and I don't know how good each one is. I think that there are probably a fair few people in the same position.

Could anyone please do like a simple tutorial, with the types of film and the properties they have?? It could look something like this (I don't know whether what I am writing is true, its just a guideline for the layout):

Fuji Velvia - Good Saturation, fine grain
Truprint film - Pale colours, not very sharp

etc. etc.

I would be really grateful and I think that this would also be helpful for others.

Thanks!

You do realise this could take a while. It might be easier, and quicker, if you let us know what films you have and we can give you a rough idea of the qualities of those first. (y)

Alternatively, decide what subjects you wish to shoot and attack it from that angle? To be honest, your best bet is to look up the manufacturers website, kodak, fuji etc. Both of those have detailed notes about their films and uses etc...