Filter advice

Edit My Images
No
Hey folks,

I would like advice please. I am a novice photographer and have recently been doing some landscape shots. I was using my tamron 17-50 for my canon 60D. I have found this of course to be limited so I have just purchased a sigma 10-20. Can someone point me in the right directions to filters, and all associated accessories I would need please?

Three types of filter you might use in landscape photography:

1) Polarising filter, used to enhance blue skies, cut through reflections, deepen the colours of foliage etc.

2) Graduated neutral density (ND Grads), used to hold back a brighter part of a scene (usually the sky) so that the camera can record the whole scene in one frame, http://www.markmullenphotography.co.uk/blog/2013/3/filters-for-landscape-photography

3) Neutral density, reduces the amount of light coming in, which in turn lengthens exposure times, useful for smoothing water out, making clouds looks blurry etc, http://www.markmullenphotography.co.uk/blog/2012/8/long-exposure-photography---my-tips

Three types of filter you might use in landscape photography:

1) Polarising filter, used to enhance blue skies, cut through reflections, deepen the colours of foliage etc.

2) Graduated neutral density (ND Grads), used to hold back a brighter part of a scene (usually the sky) so that the camera can record the whole scene in one frame, http://www.markmullenphotography.co.uk/blog/2013/3/filters-for-landscape-photography

3) Neutral density, reduces the amount of light coming in, which in turn lengthens exposure times, useful for smoothing water out, making clouds looks blurry etc, http://www.markmullenphotography.co.uk/blog/2012/8/long-exposure-photography---my-tips
Just checked out your website. Awesome!
If you could only buy 1 filter at a time, which would you buy first?

Thanks!

A polariser is one of very few filters which can't be replicated through clever editing so that's the first one I'd get.