First Attempt at Light Trails

Name
Rod
Edit My Images
Yes
This is my first attempt at light trails, any advice on how i can improve them.

11t1tz4wxy.jpg

3khhvwr6mz.jpg

I must warn you that i only have a Nikon P500 bridge camera, so i am restricted with shutter speeds and apertures.

Rod

hi, rod, for a first attempt, they are ok bearing in mind the restrictions of your camera, however, may i suggest that that you take the pictures before the light levels drop to much, other than that keep experimenting.
Darryl.

What is the longest exposure that you camera will allow you to take? as all I can find online is that it can do from 2 seconds-1/1500th of second but this looks like it may be a little longer than that in these :thinking: on the first you have the makings of a real nice sky but in the second there appears to be a lot of jpeg compression possibly from the saving process or from the file type/size selected in camera

If you camera is limited to a 2 second exposure it is going to make things a little hard, but what you could attempt is to take multiple maybe 20-30 x 2 second exposures and stack them using software, such as free to download starstax, it's important that if doing this that the camera is not moved this could generate good results, try and keep the ISO as low as you can, use a relatively small aperture and if available use manual focus as this looks like it may be a little soft...

Check out my guide to light trails linked in my signature, it's aimed at DSLR's but there are still useful tips that should help you (y)

Matt
MWHCVT

Thanks Matt, it was 8 seconds, that's the most i can get, with the smallest aperture of f8

Rod

8 seconds is manageable (y) but you may still need to consider the stacking route (y) to get a really nice effect, find a second of road that is really busy and watch out for when there are lots of vehicle on the section (y) that will yield the best results (y)

Matt