First attempt at night photography

Name
Ian
Edit My Images
Yes
Morning, this is my first attempt at night photography, living next to massive port with unreal levels of light pollution I thought I would try to use the light rather than fight it, please let me know what if anything is any good and how I can improve.

Thanks
Ian

DSC_3629bnw_filtered
by Red9R on Talk Photography

DSC_3632

port-by-night

Love the first one, although my eyes are telling me the levels are out? Unless it's an illusion?
I take it the colour version is the same as the b&w as oddly the levels look fine in colour?

Love the first one, although my eyes are telling me the levels are out? Unless it's an illusion?
I take it the colour version is the same as the b&w as oddly the levels look fine in colour?
For me the B&W is the best too. I think it is level but oddly think that the colour one isn't! The left side seems higher on the colour but could be an illusion.

J

That's funny to me the b&w looks down on the left?

B&W is my choice too. There is an amazing difference between the first two images.

I like all three of these, and just to be different I prefer the last one most. Ways to improve, I would have preferred to see a little indigo/blue left in the sky, also the first two look a little soft as if the camera moved during exposer, as I can see ripples on the water it's probably caused by wind vibration with the longer shutter time. But as said they are all nice images and very good for a first try.