First attempt at Sport Shots (and first post!)

Name
Andrew
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

Big hello to everyone here, newbie forum member and finally plucked up the courage to put my first post up. Was asked to take some shots of a local hockey team club. These I think were the pick of the bunch. First time I have shot sports, WELL difficult! C & C most grateful!

Thanks,

A

1) Push Hit

hockey38_1024x588.jpg

2) Penalty Corner Receive

hockey34_855x768.jpg

3) Penalty Corner Hit

hockey35_779x768.jpg

4) Goalie On the Floor Save

hockey30_1024x670.jpg

I can't give you advice since I aint a professional so i'll leave it to the professional photographers on hear :) But i like the 4th one!

Welcome, I like the last one, its in focus (y) not too keen on the others.

Im not an expert Im learning also, so dont take my comments too seriously!

I think you would be better going to a proper match, this looks like a practice or a training session. You would be able to concentrate on your photos whilst the girls are playing and not taking any notice of you (y)

Welcome, and nice to see that you've got the courage to post images.
I've done a fair bit of sport photography myself - even getting paid for it these days. Although I still don't consider myself an all knowing pro - but I thought to give you my views and little advice. Hope it helps....

I will go through the pictures one by one.. so you can get a little advice on each. But don't take it too seriously, these are just my opinions... Not the ultimate truth.

1. Cropped this one too tight, would be nice to see other players around and more of where the ball is coming from and where its going to. Other option would've been to shoot it so you'll see the players face.
Try to include more in the image, just a player with her back towards you and a ball do not make that interesting of a photo.
Timing on this one is nice - you got the ball just coming (or leaving) the stick. Good capture of the moment.