First attempt with ND filter and need a few pointers...

Name
James
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all

I am extremely new to this, and purchased a variable ND Filter (really just to dip the toe before taking the full plunge on a set of filters.

Long story short, I took several piccies in the same location, and had awful vignetting on the first couple. This was the best of the lot.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/118403121@N02/12699231755/player/aab45c00c3

Sorry for link - screwed up the insertion of the snap

The shot was taken in Dawlish, which has been somewhat shut down by the recent railway excitement.

I would value comment on composition improvement as well.

Thanks in advance from a learner!

JJ

Not a bad first attempt, the shot needs rotating counter clockwise to straighten the horizon. Post processing can usually resolve most vignetting. I think you should convert the image to black and white as there is little colour there anyway. You have got the sea nice and milky looking though so a good start. Try shooting the shot at various focal lengths, 24,35 ect a lot of lenses are not at there best at there extremes.

My advice is to try a shot like this when the sun isn't going to be such a drawback to where the eye goes. This will allow you to use a slower shutter speed.

Wait for a cloud to cover it, shoot later in the day etc but it is far too strong as it is now. It also makes your exposure a bit short to show any cloud movement. Depending on the speed of the clouds, ideally you want 30s minimum.

Firstly, Sbowler - many thanks for solving my image posting issue. Most appreciated.

Thanks to both of you for input - I have been itching to get out there with the new toy and I will admit the condition were not ideal (should have negotiated longer with my good lady to allow me a longer permit next time!)