First film shooting for years...

Name
Richard
Edit My Images
Yes
I'd pretty much say I was brand new to film. Anything I shot on film in the past was probably when I was a child, and didn't have any concept about real photography at all. Well, I just got myself fairly nice-ish Petri 7s rangefinder on 'the bay' the other day and despite it having a slightly temperamental shutter and a fairly dim rangefinder patch, I think I got a bargain (@ £8).

Anyway, I took it out for the first time today, typically on the sunniest day we've had for a long time! Like I said, I'm new to film, and foolishly have it loaded with Tri-X (ISO 400). On a sunny day, that's obviously a bad thing! (Will try HP4 next time).

To get to the point - the Petri has a maximum shutter speed of 1/500 and in some situations I was setting my aperture to f/16 and shutter speed to 1/500 and the meter was still suggesting a fairly large over-exposure. I just wondered if there was any way to counteract this/get round this, or do I just really need to avoid shooting ISO 400 film in those conditions?

Apologies for the newbie nature of the question! Cheers!

Neutral density or ND filters...... Like sunglasses for your camera.

Ah yes. I assumed a filter might do the job. Is that the only option though... I'm thinking, is there not some way to play with the ISO settings of the camera, that would somehow force it to underexpose a bit.. and then mess with it during processing.... ? Remember reading something about that... or am I just getting my wires crossed?

Hmm. I would say that 1/500th with f/16 on a sunny day using 400 ISO is about right to be honest... unless you were at the beach or somewhere similarly bright?

Hmm. I would say that 1/500th with f/16 on a sunny day using 400 ISO is about right to be honest... unless you were at the beach or somewhere similarly bright?

Yeah that's not a million miles off.......