First Horse Shoot

Name
Ian
Edit My Images
Yes
A couple of shots from this morning equine shoot. First time shooting (not literary) horses commercially and boy, not an easy job especially for an indoor studio junkie like me. As always, C & Cs most welcome.

I'll be surprised if she likes the first one due to the position of the ears.

#2 has a good head position but there's some strange body shape going on in the background and the chin's cropped :)

Not as easy as it looks :)

digging the look on the first one, ears could be tricky but thats not my thing

second has something odd in the eye?

Thank you for your thoughts, and you being honest with your C&C is what I need. Have another horse shoot booked for next week and I need all the help I can get.

I am not an expert photographer but know a thing or two about horses... so, the first is about the most unflattering angle you could possibly shoot a horse from - sorry, I'm not being nasty just trying to be helpful. The second is quite a nice head shot. As someone else mentioned, try to make sure that you get all the bits (lip) in and, although the white in the eye is perhaps a reflection or maybe white visible in the horse's eye (?), it might look better if you just cloned that out.

Horses are very very difficult to photograph. There is someone on here (sorry I can't remember who) who does professional horse photography and their work is a great source of inspiration. You can also have a look on the net maybe using key words like "professional equestrian photographer" - that doesn't guarantee you'll only get professionals but I'm sure you can tell the difference.