Beginner First 'Non Auto' steps

Name
Barry
Edit My Images
Yes
As a beginner I'm curious to know what the first steps others take as an alternative to 'Auto' settings. If I try to experiment with more than one thing I will probably get totally confused. Having said this I still have to learn what all the buttons and switches do on the lens and body.

If you haven't already, read the manual, then re-read it. Also search on YouTube for tutorials on your camera. Aperture priority is probably the best place to start. Don't think you need to master full manual mode straight away, let the camera help you, that's what the semi auto modes are for. The only thing I would take out of the camera's control is the focus point, you need to choose that (usually the centre focus point is best). Other than that practice and enjoy.

Search for images that you like then try to replicate them. I found the Wildlife Photographer of the Year series of books useful as they give the camera settings next to the photo.

I'd second giving aperture priority a go to get a bit more control over depth of field. Also, exposure compensation comes in pretty handy.

As others have already suggested, Aperture priority is a good starting point.

It's worth doing a bit of reading on what Aperture, Shutter Speed and ISO do in terms of how they affect the image - as that will also help you figure out what sort of shots to try to get a practical feel for how they interact.

For getting a handle on aperture, and how it changes the image, a good subject is a plant - take a series of shots, all from the same place, starting with the smallest number aperture your lens will allow, and gradually increasing it (try to always focus on the same bit of the plant - leaf, flower, etc).
You should see the set of images go from one with just a small bit in focus, the rest blurry, to the whole plant in focus.

Reading the handbook would seem like a good plan ;)