First photography job advice

Edit My Images
Yes
I've been asked to photograph a wedding in July and also an engagement party next month. These are the first time I've had to photograph events on request. I am nowhere near professional standard, more an enthusiastic amatuer looking to build experience and a portfolio. I am looking for some advice and any helpful hints and tips to help me.

I will be meeting with both potential clients soon and I will be making sure that they fully understand that I am not a professional and it is going to be my first time shooting these events. In terms of charging for these, I am going to do these for free.

What is the deal with insurance? Would I need to get full public indemnity insurance?

I will have the following as my equipment:

D7000
D3100 (backup)
17-55mm
35mm f1.8
85mm f1.8
18-55mm
55-300mm
One Yonguno flash and triggers
Umbrella

Would you recommend that I rent a 70-200 mm or is the kit adequate? My only concern is the telephoto range, not sure if the 55-300mm will be fast enough.

You can shoot most of a wedding using a short zoom and a good flash - you only really need anything longer as an aisle shortener in the church (for which you can use a tripod). My advice is "KISS" - keep it simple, don't keep changing lenses, you'll miss shots, probably fumble it, drop a lens and get dust in the camera. Use on-camera flash for fill (ideally with a Stofen or "card" reflector). You may need to get something like a good Nissin gun for this job... (Speed of the long lens is pretty irrelevant for an aisle-shortener on a tripod)

Having dealt with the equipment, I really can't see the point in insurance, you're a friend doing a favour.