Beginner First photos taken - total newbie

Name
Alice Molloy
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi Everyone,

I went for a walk today and wanted to play around with the camera. Thought I would upload some the photos, constructive criticism welcome!

Notice there is a size limit on uploads! Didnt realise that as I saved them as Jpeg & Raw.

Have a nice evening all.

Attachments

• 20181229042052_IMG_0001.JPG
    20181229042052_IMG_0001.JPG
    57.7 KB · Views: 104
  • 20181229230225_IMG_0046.JPG
    20181229230225_IMG_0046.JPG
    124.3 KB · Views: 104
  • 20181229231339_IMG_0057.JPG
    20181229231339_IMG_0057.JPG
    206.5 KB · Views: 104
Hi Alice - I completely agree with what Dave says above - practice is key!

There is a lot to learn and it can be all a bit confusing at the start. So what you could do, is start by taking shots on aperture mode, and setting different apertures to see the difference to the in focus areas you take - also try this focusing on subjects quite close and further away - you'll be amazed at the difference it can make!

I quite like your second one of the fern. Your 3rd one I think you might have too slow a shutter speed as nothing is sharp and I'm not sure where the focus point is. As with the aperture mode, shutter speed mode is one to play around with.

Good start. keep going!

Al

Hi Everyone,

I went for a walk today and wanted to play around with the camera. Thought I would upload some the photos, constructive criticism welcome!

Notice there is a size limit on uploads! Didnt realise that as I saved them as Jpeg & Raw.

Have a nice evening all.

OK, CC follows. Note that this is intended to be helpful only - not personal.