1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Kell

Kell

Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Hi all,

Just joined as I'm hoping that someone could give me advice on my next move in terms of photography.

I studied photography at college, but am old enough for a lot of the lessons to be about processing film and making prints in a darkroom. As the years went on, I used my old SLR more and more infrequently.

Then, for my 40th birthday five years ago I got a Canon 600d with the 18-135mm lens. And then in the intervening five years, I also bought the Canon 50mm 1.8. And then a Canon 430 Speedlite and then the Sigma 18-250mm lens and a Sigma 30mm.

And I'm now at a bit of an impasse with what to do next.

I'd say that my favourite lens/camera combo is with the Sigma 30mm lens and flash attached for parties and holidays and the like. But (sa I've seen numerous other people wondering) I always felt like the next logical step would be full frame.

However, as most of my lenses (with the exception of the 50mm and a very cheap Tamron I bought for my daughter's 300d) are not compatible with Canon FF, I'm at a strange place in that I could sell everything I have and completely start again and not really be much worse off.

But even doing this, I couldn't afford a 5d MKIV. So then I started looking at a 6d MKII. And then I started thinking, well, the Nikon d750 is less than the Canon 6d, so I could put the difference towards a good lens.

And then I started questioning the need for full frame at all. Do I just upgrade the glass first and then decide to upgrade the camera later (would mean sticking with Canon).

And then I read that even a modern entry-level camera would be considered an upgrade over mine which, at six years' old in terms of technology, is wa-a-a-a-y behind modern kit.

So then I started thinking about a 7d as a significant upgrade to the camera and got all confused again.