First wedding, advice?

• Thread starter Deleted sulking member 63079
  • Start date
D

Deleted sulking member 63079

Not sure if this is the right section..

I've been asked to shoot a neighbours wedding, they're doing it on a budget, and it's something I'd like to get into and there's no real way to get any portfolio material other than doing one, so I have agreed. I've obviously explained that I've never shot a wedding before and I have no experience in directing people for the group shots.

It's at the start of October, in a local hotel, which if I remember correctly, is quite well lit.

In my kit bag I have:
D7000
Sigma 17-50mm F2.8
Nikon 35mm F1.8
Nikon 50mm F1.8
Tamron 90mm F2.8 Macro
Yungnuo 568EX II Flash

I'll need spare batteries, which is a given, but am I missing anything else that is a *must* have for weddings? any advice anyone is willing to share would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Andy

Possibly a longer lens so your not in the way all the time and maybe a tripod ?

Maybe the question should be "what is the minimum amount of photographic equipment I need for my first wedding shoot?"
Just trying to be helpful

Last edited:
I'm going to ask my father in law to borrow his Canon 7D with the 70-300 L lens as a telephoto and backup. Although obviously if the worst happens I'll lose the versatility of the other lenses.

And yep, got a tripod, forgot to list it, sorry.

...I'll need spare batteries, which is a given, but am I missing anything else that is a *must* have for weddings? any advice anyone is willing to share would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Andy
Spare body, longer lens and spare flashgun.
Think redundancy, forget loaning a Canon with a telezoom, they'll be no use to you if your camera dies. You'd just be left with a telezoom to shoot with, so if you carry on with that, you'll also need another spare Nikon body. Redundancy is about could you carry on shooting the whole thing if one piece of kit died*.