first

Name
Robb
Edit My Images
Yes
Right chaps, I've just looked at some of your Birdy pics :crying:

I'll let you rip into mine, I will say, It's my first time with the only lens I got at the mo A 70-210mm, not sure what the other settings were, I just shot threw the window

"O" well, here we go

In my garden threw the glass

There ya go

Robb :cool:

Hello Robb

Any digital image needs sharpening, I ran your second through Photoshop Elements, Auto Sharpen, had to save it a touch smaller, but you should be able to see the difference (y)

That's cool.
But aren't you supposed to get the photo correct with your camera, without touchup?

That's cool.
But aren't you supposed to get the photo correct with your camera, without touchup?

Yes ... I didn't do any touch up, I sharpened it.

All digital cameras have an anti aliasing filter, this results in a slight softening of the image. Most digital cameras have the ability to sharpen the image in the settings, or it can be done in post processing, as I did.

You will also lose sharpness when resizing images for the web, so again the need for some sharpening.

As Martyn said. Straight out of the camera = soft image.
When I first started using a digital body I was really disappointed with sharpness, knowing no better. I was comparing mentally with what I got straight out of a film body using a fine grain emulsion. Later I learned that PP sharpening is de-rigeur.

Hi robb and welcome, thats a good starting point and things will only get closer and more expensive from here on in ;) Martyn has tidied that one up well for you.

OK :crying: there is one hell of allot I gotta learn :wacky:

mi lenses will be here next week, so I now got the opportunity to go back and READ :bang:

Thanks very much

OK :crying: there is one hell of allot I gotta learn :wacky:

mi lenses will be here next week, so I now got the opportunity to go back and READ :bang:

Thanks very much