Flash Fall Off

Name
Mikey
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm pretty new to the art of photography so I hope you can help me. I am trying to take a photo where the flash falls off completely leaving the subject in the foreground and the background completely black. I am currently using a Fuji S6500fd, what conditions would I need to get this to work properly and how would I set up my camera to do this? Although I obviously don't have all the features and modes of big people's cameras.

Thanks

You need to know the guide number of the flash to work it out.If you divide the guide number by the f stop used it will give you the distence your flash will work at.

Hi bum,

shoot it outside, at night. Set your cam to -1 stop exposure compensation.

Have fun!

Flash guide no. 8.3 m (27.2 ft) 3 m
Aperture range F2.8 - F4.9

Thats the information I've found.

Don't bother with the numbers.

What you need to do (if you can, I don't know your camera) is set your camera to it's highest sync speed and pick a small aperture. Get your flash close to the subject (this makes the flash less powerful but will expose the subject correctly) and assuming your background is a reasonable distance away the fall off should make the background black.

How far away roughly should the background be? Would it be far enough away in normal sized room?

Difficult to say really as it's all relative to the distance your flash is from the subject.

Have a look at these three that I shot when I was experimenting and learning how to light (as you can tell by the not so great composition). There's plenty of ambient light in this room, I think all the normal evening lights were on so as you would normally have in your living room in the evening. The setting I used meant that none of that ambient light affected the exposure so all you can see is flash generated light. All were shot at the same settings: ISO 400, f16, 1/250s.